New York Film Critics Circle Names ‘Tár’ As Best Film; Cate Blanchett & Colin Farrell Take Lead Acting Prize: Winners List

The longest-acting movie awards voting committee got it done in about 3½ hours this year, with the New York Film Critics Circle finally naming Focus Features’ Tár as Best film of 2022. The movie, which reps filmmaker Todd Fields return to the camera in 16 years also saw its star Cate Blanchett win Best Actress.

The NYFCC is known for bestowing wins to indie movies and the org can take as long as five hours to deliberate on the day they announce wins. Whatever film the group names as Best Picture doesn’t always translate to an Oscar Best Picture win; the last title to do so was 2011’s The Artist.

More from Deadline

Related Story

2022-23 Awards Season Calendar – Dates For The Oscars, Golden Globes, Guilds & More

Related Story

Jim Jarmusch Gives Rare Masterclass In Marrakech

Related Story

Colin Farrell To Receive Palm Springs Film Festival Gala Actor Award

That’s not to say their winners aren’t in the Oscar mix. Last year, the NYFCC named Ryusuke Hamaguchi’s Drive My Car its Best Film, with the pic going on to win Best International Feature Film at the Oscars. Jane Campion last year received Best Director for The Power of the Dog, and went on to win Best Director at the Oscars. Among the NYCC’s previous Best Pics are Kelly Reichardt’s First Cow in 2020 and Netflix’s back-to-back 2019 and 2018 wins for The Irishman and Roma, respectively. Then there was A24’s Greta Gerwig-directed movie Ladybird in 2017, preceded by La La Land (2016), Carol (2015) and Boyhood (2014). When it comes to a traditional major motion picture studio winning best picture at the NYFCC, it was Sony with American Hustle (2013), Zero Dark Thirty (2012) and Social Network (2010).

Among the top honors this year from NYFCC were RRR‘s S.S. Rajamouli for Best Director, Martin McDonagh taking Best Screenplay for The Banshees of Inisherin and the pic’s Colin Farrell getting Best Actor. There’s also a few A24 movies: Ke Huy Quan for Best Supporting Actor from the biggest arthouse hit of the year, Everything Everywhere All at Once; Marcel the Shell with Shoes On for Best Animated Film, Best First Film for Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun and Farrell getting double recognized for the distrib’s sci-fi drama pic After Yang. Wells also wrote Aftersun, which follows Sophie (Frankie Corio) who reflects on the shared joy and private melancholy of a holiday she took with her father (Paul Mescal) 20 years earlier. Memories real and imagined fill the gaps between as she tries to reconcile the father she knew with the man she didn’t.

RELATED: Gotham Awards: ‘Everything Everywhere All At Once’ Takes Best Feature – Full Winners List

Other winners today include Poland’s Oscar submission EO, where a donkey is the star, which won Best International Film. Venice Golden Lion winner All the Beauty and the Bloodshed has won Best Non-Fiction Film.

“Today’s NYFCC winners reflect the broad range of our tastes, as well as what’s exciting audiences at cinemas today,” stated NYFCC Chair Jordan Hoffman. “It’s a stimulating group of movies, and our gala event in January is bound to be a memorable one.”

Founded in 1935, the New York Film Critics Circle is the oldest critics group in the country. The NYFCC’s membership includes critics from daily and weekly newspapers, magazines and the web’s most respected online publications.

The group’s awards gala will be held in early January in NYC.

Here are all the winners of the New York Film Critics Circle Awards:


S.S. Rajamouli, RRR

Cate Blanchett, Tár

Colin Farrell, The Banshees of Inisherin and After Yang

Martin McDonagh, The Banshees of Inisherin

EO (Poland)

Claudio Miranda, Top Gun: Maverick

Keke Palmer, Nope

Ke Huy Quan in <em>Everything Everywhere </em>(Everett Collection)
Ke Huy Quan in Everything Everywhere (Everett Collection)

Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All at Once

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed

Marcel the Shell With Shoes On

Jake Perlin, curator, distributor and publisher in recognition of his indispensable contributions to film culture.

dGenerate Films for its invaluable work bringing independent films to China.

Jafar Panahi, for “dogged bravery as an artist, and for the humanity and beauty of a body of work created under the most oppressive circumstances.


Undergraduate, Nico Pedrero-Setzer
Graduate, Greg Nussen

This year’s voting members include: Sam Adams (Slate), Siddhant Adlakha (freelance), Melissa Anderson (4 Columns), Michael Atkinson (freelance), Jason Bailey (Playlist), Richard Brody (New Yorker), Dwight Brown (NNPA Syndication), Kameron Austin Collins (Rolling Stone), Bilge Ebiri (New York), David Ehrlich (IndieWire), Kate Erbland (IndieWire), David Fear (Rolling Stone), Graham Fuller (freelance), Owen Gleiberman (Variety), Ed Gonzalez (Slant), Leah Greenblatt (EW), Steven D. Greydanus (National Catholic Register), Rafer Guzman (Newsday), Caryn James (BBC), Eric Kohn (IndieWire), Tomris Laffly (freelance), Richard Lawson (Vanity Fair), Violet Lucca (freelance), Soraya Nadia McDonald (Andscape), Sheila O’Malley (, Rex Reed (New York Observer), David Rooney (Hollywood Reporter), Nick Schager (Daily Beast), David Sims (The Atlantic), Kyle Smith (Wall Street Journal), Dana Stevens (Slate), Amy Taubin (Artforum), Peter Travers (ABC), Keith Uhlich (freelance), Elizabeth Weitzman (The Wrap), Stephen Whitty (freelance), Alissa Wilkinson (Vox), Alison Willmore (New York), Stephanie Zacharek (Time), and Esther Zuckerman (freelance).

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click here to read the full article.