World Cup matches today: The full list of Qatar 2022 fixtures and predictions for November 30

Lionel Messi/World Cup matches today: The full list of Qatar 2022 fixtures and predictions for November 30 - GETTY IMAGES/CLIVE BRUNSKILL
Lionel Messi/World Cup matches today: The full list of Qatar 2022 fixtures and predictions for November 30 - GETTY IMAGES/CLIVE BRUNSKILL

The final round of group-stage matches at the Qatar World Cup is under way as teams continue battling it out in the first ever winter instalment of the competition.

The 22nd edition of the quadrennial tournament, which began way back in 1930, is also the first to be held in an Arab country. The State of Qatar is the smallest country in size (11,600 km2) and population (2.7 million) ever to host.

The World Cup features eight groups of four teams before the top two from each go through to a knockout round of 16, followed by the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final. This format will be changed for the World Cup 2026 when the tournament will be expanded to 48 teams as the USA, Mexico and Canada co-host.

All World Cup matches today

Australia 1 Denmark 0 (Group D)

Tunisia 1 France 0 (Group D)

Poland 0 Argentina 2 (Group C)

Saudi Arabia 1 Mexico 2 (Group C)

Today's match predictions

From Jason Burt in Doha

Australia 0 Denmark 3: It is a must-win for Denmark, dark horses at this World Cup, while a draw might be enough for Australia. Denmark have struggled in attack but surely will have too much this time.

Tunisia 1 France 3: France have already qualified and have all but guaranteed winning the group and so changes may be made. After impressing against Denmark, Tunisia were poor against Australia and have to win.

Poland 1 Argentina 2: Robert Lewandowski v Lionel Messi. Despite their win over Mexico, Argentina did not look like a team who were 36 games undefeated going into this World Cup. Could be tense and scrappy.

Saudi Arabia 0 Mexico 1: A draw might be enough for the Saudis while Mexico must win. Problem is they are not very attacking and so may try and keep it tight and nick a goal. Despite beating Argentina, the Saudis give up chances and might struggle.

When are the knockout stages?

The knockout stages of this year's World Cup begin with the round of 16, before moving through to the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final. The first round of 16 match is on Saturday, December 3 at 3pm.

What date is the World Cup 2022 final?

The last match of the World Cup will take place on Qatar National Day – Sunday, December 18. It will kick-off at 3pm UK time (6pm in Qatar, 10am ET, 9am CT and 7am PT) at the 80,000-seater Lusail Stadium.

Where is the next World Cup taking place?

The World Cup 2026 will be held across three host countries - America, Canada and Mexico - in a tournament first after the trio's bid fended off a strong proposal from Morocco. The competition matches will be played across 16 different cities - 11 from America, two in Canada and three in Mexico.

This article is kept updated with the latest information.