Advertisement

How to watch The Game Awards 2023, the biggest night in video gaming

The Game Awards 2023 are set to air tonight.
The Game Awards 2023 are set to air tonight.

One of the biggest nights of the year for video game lovers is upon us. The Game Awards 2023 is set to stream live in the U.S. on Thursday night on platforms across the internet.

Besides learning the winner of the coveted Best Game of the Year prize, gaming fans will see awards given across over 30 categories. Many companies also use this event to make major announcements and tease future releases, such as Xbox's promise of “major announcements."

Even if you're not typically a diehard gamer, The Game Awards are worth tuning into if you are interested in catching a glimpse of what the upcoming year may have in store for the industry.

Wondering where and how to watch? We've got you covered.

What are The Game Awards?

Ghost Story Games announced the title Judas at last year's award show.
Ghost Story Games announced the title Judas at last year's award show.

GTA 6 trailer: Does Grand Theft Auto 6’s ‘Vice City’ look familiar? New video game map has Florida inspiration

One of the biggest nights in the world of gaming, it's not only about giving out "best of" awards across multiple categories but is also generally the backdrop for some of the biggest announcements, teasers, trailers and reveals of the year.

They are hosted by Geoff Keighley, a video game journalist and television presenter best known for hosting GameTrailers TV and now-defunct G4tv.com. He has been spearheading the awards since the inaugural show in 2014.

The award nominees and winners are decided via a combination of viewer votes and a jury of over 100 global media and influencer outlets.

When are The Game Awards 2023?

Last year, Private Division and Piccolo Studio announced After Us during The Game Awards 2022.
Last year, Private Division and Piccolo Studio announced After Us during The Game Awards 2022.

New GTA trailer drop: 'Grand Theft Auto VI' trailer hits 91 million views in 24 hours

The Game Awards are set to air live on Thursday, Dec. 7. In the U.S. as listed below:

  • 7:30 p.m. ET

  • 4:30 p.m. PT

  • 12:30A+1 GMT

The Game Awards will also be viewable outside the U.S. at the following times on Friday, Dec. 8:

  • UK: 00:30 GMT

  • Central Europe: 01:30 CET

  • India (New Delhi): 06:00 IST

  • Japan (Tokyo): 09:30 JST

  • South Korea (Seoul): 09:30 KST

  • Australia (Sydney): 11:30 AEDT

How and where to watch The Game Awards 2023

The awards will be streamed live across several digital, social and gaming platforms globally. A YouTube stream has already been set up and is ready for the start of the show.

View The Game Awards here:

Several other platforms are also official distribution partners, including:

People outside the U.S. can check a list of platforms on which to watch the awards on the official website.

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: How to watch The Game Awards 2023