Voting For Bypolls to Five Municipal Wards in Delhi Underway

The Quint
·2 min read

The voting for bypolls in five municipal wards in Delhi, namely Rohini-C, Shalimar Bagh (North), Trilokpuri, Kalyanpuri and Chauhan Bamgar, is underway on Sunday, 28 February.

Two of these wards come under the North Delhi Municipal Corporation while the remaining three under the East Delhi Municipal Corporation.

This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.

The three contenders— the Aam Aadmi Party, Bhartiya Janata Party and Congress have displayed confidence in winning the bypolls.

As many as 2.42 lakh people are eligible to vote in Delhi’s municipal bypolls, as per the State Election Commission, the result of which will be announced on Wednesday, 3 March.

Officials said that there are 327 polling stations with 26 candidates contesting in the said election, PTI reported.

Regarding COVID-19 patients, officials reportedly said that they can vote during the last hour of voting following the guidelines.


In Trilokpuri ward, the AAP has fielded Vijay Kumar, BJP has fielded Om Prakash Gugarwal and Bal Krishan is Congress party’s candidate.

AAP’s Dhirendra, BJP’s Siyaram Kanojia and Congress’ Dharampal Maurya are contesting from the Kalyanpuri ward.

Meanwhile, in Chauhan Bamgar ward, former AAP MLA Haji Ishraq Khan is contesting against Congress’ Chaudhary Zubair Ahmad and BJP’s Nazir Ansari.

Further, in case of Shalimar Bagh (North) ward, BJP’s Surbhi Jaju, AAP’s Sunita Mishra and Congress’ Mamta are contesting.

The AAP has fielded former Bawana MLA Ramchandra in the Rohini-C ward with BJP and Congress fielding Rajesh Goyal and Mewati Barwala respectively.

(With inputs from PTI, ANI)

. Read more on India by The Quint.Voting For Bypolls to Five Municipal Wards in Delhi Underway Dilsher, 23, Undertrial, Murdered in Tihar Jail – Who Killed Him? . Read more on India by The Quint.