UFC Fight Night 228 video: Jacob Malkoun disqualified for illegal strike on Cody Brundage

Jacob Malkoun made a massive tactical error at UFC Fight Night 228, and as a result Cody Brundage was the one to get the victory.

Malkoun (7-2 MMA, 3-2 UFC) was disqualified in the opening round of the lightweight bout at the UFC Apex in Las Vegas when he landed an illegal blow to the back of Brundage’s (8-5 MMA, 2-4 UFC) head. The fight was immediately halted after referee Mark Smith witnessed the forearm/elbow from Malkoun, and the review process began.

After the Nevada Athletic Commission and Smith reviewed the replay and confirmed the location of the strike, Brundage eventually said he couldn’t continue. That brought an end to the contest, and Brundage got the disqualification win. Smith’s choices were to either disqualify Malkoun for an intentional illegal strike, or call it unintentional – and rule it a no contest.

Check out the replay of the fight-ending shot below (via X):

Brundage refused to let the referee raise his hand when the fight result was announced, and he left the octagon in clear disappointment as Factory X coach Mark Montoya consoled him.

For more on the card, visit MMA Junkie’s event hub for UFC Fight Night 228.

Story originally appeared on MMA Junkie