Two more step forward for Village of Morrin council; no by-election needed

·1 min read

The Village of Morrin saw two more community members step forward for vacant council seats, meaning the village has enough for a full council and will not need a by-election.

Village of Morrin Returning Officer and Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) Annette Plachner confirmed to the ECA Review Nov. 30 two new candidates stepped forward by the end of the nomination period, which ran to the fourth full week of Nov.

Lorraine MacArthur, a retired schoolteacher, and Chris Hall, who has worked in the construction industry, both put their names forward for council.

Since there are two vacant seats on council, the table is now full and no election is needed.

M’Liss Edwards was elected in the October regular election and has already been sworn in as councillor.

MacArthur and Hall will be sworn in at the Dec. 15 regular meeting of Morrin council.

Plachner noted the regular meeting will be preceded by a special council meeting chaired by Official Administrator (OA) Harold Johnsrude, his last meeting acting as council for the village.

Johnsrude was appointed by the Minister of Municipal Affairs as OA in the fall of 2020 when most of the Morrin village council resigned.

Stu Salkeld, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, East Central Alberta Review

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting