Travel ban: Philippines includes Canada on list of countries prohibited from inbound travel

Elisabetta Bianchini
·1 min read
People wear face masks as they walk in the shopping district of Divisoria in Manila, Philippines, Friday, Dec. 18, 2020. Many Filipinos flock to this area to buy cheaper goods as they prepare for Christmas holidays in this predominantly Roman Catholic nation amid government health restrictions to help curb the spread of the coronavirus. (AP Photo/Aaron Favila)

For more on today’s top stories and the spread of the novel coronavirus across the country, please refer to our live updates below throughout the day, as well as our COVID-19 news hub.

Canadians are no longer able to travel to the Philippines, after the Philippine government announced a list 19 countries that will be prohibited from entry.

The countries that are prohibited from travel to the Philippines as Dec. 30 to Jan. 15 is as follows:

  • Canada

  • Denmark

  • Ireland

  • Japan

  • Australia

  • Israel

  • The Netherlands

  • Hong Kong

  • Switzerland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Iceland

  • Italy

  • Lebanon

  • Singapore

  • Sweden

  • South Korea

  • South Africa

  • Spain

This change comes after the Philippine government suspended flights from the U.K. on Dec. 23 after the new variant of COVID-19 was detected, which has been extended until Jan. 15 as well.

Any foreign travellers who have transited through these jurisdictions within the last 14 days will also not be granted entry into the Philippines.

Passengers who are in transit to arrive in the Philippines from these countries, including Filipino citizens, will be required to “undergo an absolute facility-based 14-day quarantine period notwithstanding a negative RT-PCR result,” according to a government memorandum.

The Philippines has reported more than 470,000 COVID-19 cases to date and 9,124 deaths.

Check out our COVID-19 in Canada topic page for latest news, tips, health updates, cases and more.