Advertisement

Tony Award winner Audra McDonald announced as Rose Parade grand marshal

The Tournament of Roses announced that multi-award winning actor and singer Audra McDonald will be the 2024 Rose Parade grand marshal.

The six-time Tony, two-time Grammy and Emmy award winner will lead the 135th edition of the New Year's Day parade, which the Tournament of Roses gave the theme, "Celebrating a World of Music."

"I am so deeply honored to have been invited to serve as the Grand Marshal of the 2024 Rose Parade," McDonald said at the announcement ceremony Friday. "As a California kid...the New Year was always ushered in with the Rose Bowl. Every January 1st I'd wake up early to watch the parade and game with my family."

McDonald's six Tony awards are the most for an individual performer and she is the only person to have won Tony awards in all four acting categories. She is also a member of the American Theater Hall of Fame.

McDonald will ride the 5 1/2 mile parade route through Pasadena and be a part of the coin flip for the 110th playing of the Rose Bowl Game.

Last snap for glory: Breaking down the 7 biggest games of college football's final weekend

Audra McDonald speaks at announcement ceremony

When is the Rose Parade and Rose Bowl Game?

The Rose Parade is held January 1, New Years Day, starting at 8 a.m. PST/11 a.m. EST.

The Rose Bowl Game, a College Football Playoff Semi-Final, will kickoff at 1 p.m PST/4 p.m. EST.

Where can I watch the Rose Parade and Rose Bowl Game?

The Rose Parade will air on NBC.

The game nicknamed, "Grandaddy of them all" will air on ESPN.

Golden hopes: Bowl scenarios for the Notre Dame Fighting Irish after regular season finale

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: Audra McDonald named 2024 Rose Parade grand marshal