Tiger Woods to be enshrined in World Golf Hall of Fame's Class of 2021

Jack Baer

The World Golf Hall of Fame is officially adding the greatest player of a generation.

Tiger Woods will be enshrined in the Hall’s Class of 2021, the organization announced Wednesday.

Tiger Woods is headed to golf's Hall of Fame. (AP Photo/Mark Lennihan)

The honor has been a long time coming for the 44-year-old, who was eligible for the first time this year thanks to the Hall’s new minimum age requirement (45) for active players.

Tiger Woods’ legendary career

Woods is currently tied with Sam Snead for the all-time PGA Tour wins record with 82 in his career, and has another 41 on the European Tour. His 15 majors wins ranks second behind only Jack Nicklaus.

However, Woods’ career has always been about more than win totals. His ascent to the top of the golf world precipitated a global rise in popularity for the sport, and he remains by far the most popular player on the tour today, not to mention one of the most famous athletes in the world.

Woods’ dominance began in 1997 when he won the Masters at the record age of 21, and continued for the next decade and more. Injuries, public scandal and an acrimonious divorce laid waste to his career for years after that, but he delivered arguably the greatest moment of his career when he came back to win the 2019 Masters.

“I am both honored and humbled to be inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame,” Woods said in a release. “This past year has been such an incredible journey and the support I’ve received from my family, friends and fans has been overwhelming. This achievement is the ultimate recognition to never give up and keep chasing.”

Who else will join Tiger Woods in the Golf Hall of Fame?

Woods was one of 10 finalists announced last week, the others being:

  • Johnny Farrell

  • Padraig Harrington

  • Tom Weiskopf

  • Susie Maxwell Berning

  • Beverly Hanson

  • Sandra Palmer

  • Dottie Pepper

  • Tim Finchem

  • Marion Hollins

Woods was the first inductee to be announced. We’ll see who else makes the cut.

More from Yahoo Sports: