Three Peterborough County mayors to be acclaimed in municipal election

·4 min read

Residents of three Peterborough County townships already know who their next mayor will be when the municipal election results are announced Oct. 24.

Selwyn Township Deputy Mayor Sherry Senis has been acclaimed as the new mayor for the 2022-26 council term, replacing two-term Mayor Andy Mitchell who did not seek re-election.

“I’m very happy with the results. I’m taking the results to mean the residents of Selwyn have been happy with my work so far,” Senis told The Examiner.

“I’m really pleased and looking forward to finding who else I’m going to be working with on council when the election is over.”

Senis was also acclaimed in the last two elections.

In 2014, she became deputy mayor after running unopposed to replace Mitchell, who went on to serve as mayor.

“I’m going to have a chat with my colleagues to find out what their priorities are and determine what committees they’re interested in serving on, and I’ll sit down with staff and to have a discussion as to where to go from here,” Senis said.

Incumbent Joe Taylor of Otonabee South-Monaghan Township and incumbent Carolyn Amyotte of North Kawartha Township also faced no competition for their seats as mayor and both stand to be re-elected.

The nominations will be reviewed and officially certified by the end of Monday by township election clerks.

As well, five deputy mayors have been acclaimed: incumbent Jim Whelan of North Kawartha Township; incumbent Lori Burtt of Asphodel-Norwood Township; incumbent Bonnie Clark of Otonabee South-Monaghan Township, newcomer Ron Black in Selwyn Township, and Hart Webb, a current councillor in Havelock-Belmont-Methuen.

Meanwhile, in Cavan Monaghan Township, both the mayor’s and deputy mayor’s race is shaping up to be an interesting contest. An all new council is a possibility, also.

Current Mayor Scott McFadden is not seeking re-election. But Deputy Mayor Matthew Graham will be going head-to-head with former Peterborough mayor Daryl Bennett for mayor, and current Coun. Ryan Huntley hopes to win against former Peterborough MP Dean Del Mastro for deputy mayor.

Bill Shaw, who became a councillor replacing his wife, Cathy Moore, who died in December, is the only incumbent running there.

Eight newcomers, including former fire chief Nelson Edgerton, are vying for seats in the township’s three wards.

The contest for mayor in Douro-Dummer Township heated up Thursday when businessperson Jim Coyle announced his bid to become mayor. He’s running against Heather Watson, the township’s Douro Ward councillor.

Newcomers Gregory Bloom and Patrick Wilford are up against incumbent Mayor Rodger Bonneau in Asphodel-Norwood Township.

In Selwyn Township, Anita Locke is the only incumbent to enter the race for councillor with local author John Boyko as her only opposition.

Local chef Brian Henry filed nomination papers Friday to run in Smith Ward against another newcomer, Samuel Alexander.

Gail Moorhouse, executive director of Community Futures Peterborough, is hoping to represent Ennismore Ward, running against Mary Coulas.

Rolf Joss is vying for the mayor’s seat in Havelock-Belmont-Methuen Township against incumbent Jim Martin. Nine newcomer hopefuls are running for council seats, but no incumbents.

North Kawartha Township could possibly see an unchanged council. All incumbent councillors are running — with opposition in all wards — and the mayor and deputy mayor are acclaimed.

But Trent Lakes could have the opposite. Coun. Peter Franzen is the only incumbent running for a council seat with eight newcomers also in the race. There is competition for both the mayor’s and deputy mayor’s positions, meaning an all-new council is possible.

Couns. Tom Watt has been acclaimed in Douro-Dummer Township as have councillors Mark Allen and Nick Powers in Otonabee South-Monaghan Township.

Patsy Young who had put her name in to run for Ennismore Ward councillor and Jodie Mulder who had signed up to run in Smith Ward, both in Selwyn Township, withdrew their names before the nomination deadline Friday.

Coun. Wilburn Archer withdrew his name from the list of candidates for Asphodel-Norwood Township council on Thursday.

Brendan Burke is a staff reporter at the Examiner, based in Peterborough. His reporting is funded by the Canadian government through its Local Journalism Initiative.

Brendan Burke, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Peterborough Examiner