TCU quarterback commit, Colleyville Heritage’s Martin win awards as top player, coach

·2 min read

Rockwall-Heath quarterback Josh Hoover and Colleyville Heritage head coach Kirk Martin were named the 2021 Landry Award player of the year and coach of the year on Monday.

The Landry Award, in its 12th year, is named after legendary Dallas Cowboys coach Tom Landry and honors the top high school football player and coach in North Texas who demonstrates positive character and leadership attributes.

Hoover, who is a 3-star recruit, recently flipped his commitment from Indiana to TCU.

His father Alex is a former Colorado State and NFL linebacker.

Hoover threw for 3,268 yards and 40 touchdowns this season helping the Hawks to the District 10-6A championship. Heath went 6-0 in district and 11-2 overall with a trip to the 6A regional round.

In the first game of the season, a 56-49 win over Keller Timber Creek, Hoover threw for 406 yards and five touchdowns. In a 79-71 double overtime win over Rockwall, Hoover threw for 365 yards and four TDs.

Other players nominated were Frisco Lone Star RB Ashton Jeanty, Rockwall QB Braedyn Locke, Lewisville RB Damien Martinez and Dallas Parish Episcopal RB Andrew Paul.

Martin was also nominated for the Landry Award during the 2020 season.

He guided Colleyville Heritage to a 12-2 record and a trip to the Class 5A Division 1 state quarterfinals. The Panthers went undefeated in District 4-5A and won a district championship for the second straight season.

The Panthers gained over 4,900 yards with 59 touchdowns.

On defense, they registered 1,237 tackles, 88 sacks and 27 takeaways.

Other coaches nominated were Joe McBride (McKinney Boyd), Carlos Lynn (Cedar Hill), Danny David (Pilot Point) and Tony Benedetto (Dallas Wilson).

Past winners include Johnathan Gray (Aledo), Jett Duffey (Mansfield Lake Ridge), Kennedy Brooks (Mansfield), Kyler Murray (Allen), John Stephen Jones (Highland Park), TJ McDaniel (Southlake Carroll) and Jaxon Smith-Njigba (Rockwall).

Aledo’s JoJo Earle and Denton Ryan coach Dave Henigan won the award last season.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting