State grand jury recommends five Broward School members be removed. Read the report here

·1 min read

A Florida grand jury tasked with investigating Broward County Public Schools after the Parkland mass shooting has released a lengthy report that recommends the removal of five school board members, four of whom are still appointed.

On Friday, the jury released the 122-page report that accuses the five members of mishandling millions of dollars meant for school safety as well as neglecting their duty.

“Having considered all of the above items of testimony and evidence, this Grand Jury finds that the School Board of Broward County has — through deceit, malfeasance, misfeasance, neglect of duty and incompetence — mismanaged the SMART Program, a multimillion-dollar bond specifically solicited for school safety initiatives.”

The panel has recommended that Gov. Ron DeSantis remove School Board Members Patricia Good, Donna Korn, Ann Murray and Laurie Rich Levinson. Former member Roslind Osgood was also recommended for removal but she has since been elected to the Florida Senate.

Korn is running for re-election on Tuesday, while Levinson’s and Murray’s terms are done in November.

Here’s what the grand jury report says: