SNP holds seven constituencies in Glasgow as one result awaited

·1 min read

The SNP has won the seven Glasgow constituencies declared so far in the Scottish Parliament election.

Incumbent Ivan McKee, Scotland’s Trade Minister, held on to his Glasgow Provan seat as counting continued for a second day in the city.

Mr McKee won 15,913 votes, Labour’s Martin McElroy won 8,683 and the Greens’ Kim Long won 2,366.

The second result on Saturday was Glasgow Cathcart, which was held by the SNP’s James Dornan. He won 21,728 votes, Labour’s Craig Carson took 11,332 and the Conservatives’ Euan Blockley 4,041.

Glasgow Shettleston was also held by the SNP, with John Mason retaining his seat on 17,465 votes.

Labour’s Pauline McNeill came second with 9,440 votes, followed by Conservative Thomas Kerr in third on 4,421.

The results for the remaining city constituency of Glasgow Kelvin due to be declared at the Emirates Arena later on Saturday.

The results follow another four SNP wins in Glasgow constituencies which were announced on Friday, including Nicola Sturgeon’s in Glasgow Southside.

Nicola Sturgeon
First Minister and SNP party leader Nicola Sturgeon speaking after retaining her seat (Jane Barlow/PA)

In his victory speech, Mr McKee said: “The people of Glasgow Provan have clearly expressed support for the continuation of this SNP Scottish Government to lead us out of the pandemic and deliver the economic recovery that comes after that.

“But they’ve also expressed their willingness to have a say in Scotland’s future.”

He added: “The economic case for independence is clear and it’s strong, and it’s really important that we get the opportunity to put that case to the people of Scotland sooner rather than later so Scotland can take its place as a normal independent country.”

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting