Rugby World Cup 2023 final: When is the match and how do I watch it on TV?

South Africa's Siya Kolisi celebrates by lifting the Webb Ellis trophy
South Africa are the defending Rugby World Cup champions - Matthew Childs/Reuters

South Africa and New Zealand will do battle in the final of the 2023 Rugby World Cup where one of them will win a record fourth Rugby World Cup.

Springboks pulled off a great escape to beat England 16-15 at the death to keep its title defence at the Rugby World Cup alive, setting up a blockbuster final against the All Blacks.

South Africa trailed for the entire semi-final against England until replacement flyhalf Handre Pollard kicked a 78th-minute penalty from near halfway to edge them thrillingly ahead.

Meanwhile, the All Blacks marched into their fifth showpiece final thanks to a dominant 44-6 win over Argentina at the Stade de France. Tries from Jordie Barrett, Aaron Smith, a brace from Shannon Frizell, and a Will Jordan hat-trick enabled the favourites to canter over the winning line and look forward to next Saturday’s final well before Friday’s final whistle.

When is the 2023 Rugby World Cup final?

The match will take place on Saturday, October 28, with kick-off at 8pm (BST). That’s 9pm local time.

Where is the Rugby World Cup final?

The match will be held at the Stade de France in Saint Denis, Paris. It will be the second time the venue has hosted a Rugby World Cup final, 2007 being the other occasion.

Who is playing in the Rugby World Cup final?

South Africa will play New Zealand, who booked their place thanks to their thrashing of Argentina.

How do I get tickets?

Tickets for this match, if they are still available, can be purchased via the official Rugby World Cup ticket portal.

How can I watch the Rugby World Cup final?

It will be broadcast exclusively on free-to-air television by ITV 1.

Who won the last Rugby World Cup final?

In 2019, South Africa beat England 32-12 in the final in Yokohama, Japan. That was the country’s third World Cup success – the previous two coming in 2007 and 1995.

  • 2019: South Africa 32 England 12

  • 2015: New Zealand 34 Australia 17

  • 2011: New Zealand 8 France 7

  • 2007: South Africa 15 England 6

  • 2003: England 20 Australia 17

  • 1999: Australia 35 France 12

  • 1995: South Africa 15 New Zealand 12

  • 1991: Australia 12 England 6

  • 1987: New Zealand 29 France 9

Best of the latest odds

  • New Zealand: 10/11

  • South Africa: 10/11

Odds correct as of October 21. Having a punt? First take a look at these Rugby World Cup free bets and betting offers.

Broaden your horizons with award-winning British journalism. Try The Telegraph free for 1 month, then enjoy 1 year for just $9 with our US-exclusive offer.