Report: Heat icon Dwyane Wade selected as first-ballot Hall of Famer

·1 min read
D.A. Varela/

As expected, it appears that Miami Heat icon Dwyane Wade will be a first-ballot Hall of Famer.

Wade has been elected for induction into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as part of the 2023 class, according to an ESPN report. The formal announcement on the full Class of 2023 will be made on Saturday during the NCAA Final Four in Houston, with the enshrinement ceremony scheduled to take place on Aug. 12 in Springfield, Mass.

This marks the first year that Wade is eligible for consideration because a player must be fully retired for four full seasons before becoming eligible for enshrinement, and Wade retired at the end of the 2018-19 season.

Already enshrined in the Hall of Fame for careers that included time with the Heat are Tim Hardaway, Chris Bosh, Ray Allen, Alonzo Mourning, Shaquille O’Neal, Gary Payton, and Pat Riley. Former Heat assistant coach Bob McAdoo is also in the Hall of Fame.

Wade’s No. 3 jersey was retired by the Heat in February 2020.

Wade, who was drafted by Miami in 2003, is the Heat’s all-time leader in categories like points, games played, minutes played, assists and steals and is considered one of the top shooting guards in NBA history. Among his most impressive accomplishments: Three championships with the Heat (2006, 2012, 2013), a Finals MVP award in 2006 and an NBA scoring title in the 2008-09 season.

According to ESPN’s report, Dirk Nowitzki, Gregg Popovich, Pau Gasol, Tony Parker and Becky Hammon are among those who will join Wade as part of the Basketball Hall of Fame’s Class of 2023.