A Quiet Place: Day One confirms earlier UK release date

lupita nyong'o, a quiet place day one trailer
A Quiet Place: Day One confirms earlier UK releaseParamount

A Quiet Place: Day One has confirmed its UK release date and it's a win for British fans, as we're getting the film slightly earlier than the US.

The film will be coming out on June 27, one day ahead of its release across the pond.

The good news was announced in an Instagram post that sees star Lupita Nyong'o knocking against the screen and motioning for you to shush. "We couldn't keep this quiet," the caption reads. "Tickets for #AQuietPlace: Day One are officially on sale now. See it in cinemas June 27."

Related: A Quiet Place 3 potential release date, cast and everything you need to know

As the title implies, this film is a prequel to the films directed by John Krasinski, showcasing what happens right at the start of humanity's downfall due to the alien invasion.

Set in New York City, it follows Nyong'o's character Sam as she must try and survive and find her way out of the city, while Djimon Hounsou is reprising his role from the second film, a character we now know to be called Henri. Stranger Things' Joseph Quinn is also one of the main leads.

Nyong'o previously explained what makes this one different to the other films, stating: "When you have a family, there is an innate expectation that they will want to stick together.

lupita nyong'o, a quiet place day one trailer

Related: A Quiet Place 2 star admits she has "serious concerns" about third movie

"We don't have that in this film. We have these disparate individuals who collide into each other's lives, and it is at a very pivotal time for the world. How do they negotiate survival together? What we get is really interesting – and even surprising – chemistry in the characters that meet each other along the way."

Krasinski helped craft the story of this prequel, but he's passed directing duties over to Michael Sarnoski, who previously helmed the well-received film Pig.

A Quiet Place: Day One released on June 27 in the UK and June 28 in the US.

You Might Also Like