All-Observer boys basketball: Combine’s Robert Dillingham is player of the year

·3 min read

Combine Academy’s Robert Dillingham is the 2020-21 Charlotte Observer high school basketball player of the year.

A 6-foot-1 sophomore guard, Dillingham has already scored more than 1,000 points in his career and led Combine to a 29-3 record, a non-association N.C. schools state championship, and a national ranking.

Dillingham has scholarship offers from Clemson, Florida, Kansas, North Carolina and PIttsburgh among others. A top 10 national recruit by most services, Dillingham is ranked No. 1 in North Carolina by Phenom Hoop Report.

The coach of the year is Combine’s Jeff McInnis, a former UNC point guard, who has developed a national program in two years. McInnis is 55-10 in two seasons against one of the toughest schedules in the nation.

Combine Academy head coach Jeff McInni (center) celebrates the come back win vs Bull City National.
Combine Academy head coach Jeff McInni (center) celebrates the come back win vs Bull City National.


Robert Dillingham, Combine Academy, 6-1, So, G: Averaged 21.2 points, 4.9 assists, 4.1 rebounds and 2.1 steals. Shot 49.5 percent from the field, 40.1 from 3 and 87.5 from the free throw line.

Jarvis Moss, Cannon, 6-5, Sr, G: Stanford recruit averaged 26 points, five rebounds and four assists for the back-to-back 4A state champs. Shot 43 percent from 3.

Ben Burnham, Carmel Christian, 6-8, Sr., F: College of Charleston recruit averaged 23.6 points, 12.8 rebounds and 2.3 blocks per game for NCISAA 4A runner-up.

Daniel Sanford, Vance, 6-8, Jr., F: I-MECK 4A player of the year averaged 21.4 points, 9.9 rebounds and two blocks per game.

Mikey Williams, Lake Norman Christian, 6-3, So, G: Top 10 national recruit averaged 21.2 points per game after moving to North Carolina from California.


Knoah Carver, Ardrey Kell, 6-2, Sr, G

Jeremy Gregory, North Mecklenburg, 6-8, Jr, F

Jonas Aidoo, Liberty Heights, 6-11, Sr., C

Chris Ford, North Meck, 6-5, Sr, F

Trey Green, Lake Norman Christian, 5-9, So, G


MJ Collins, Westminster Catawba, 6-3, Jr., G

Elijah Gray, Ardrey Kell, 6-8, Jr, F

Chase Lowe, Weddington, 6-5, Jr, G

DJ Nix, Cannon School, 6-6, Jr, F

Randall Pettus, Bessemer City, 6-2, So, G

Elijah Strong, Myers Park. 6-8, So, F

Omarion Bodrick, Combine Academy, 6-7, Sr, F

Lewis Duarte, Victory Christian, 6-5, Jr, G

Aden Holloway, Covenant Day, 6-1, So, G

Paul McNeil, Richmond Senior, 6-5, Fr, W

Graham Calton, Charlotte Latin, 6-5, Sr, G

Previous Winners


2019-20: Jaden Bradley (Cannon); Duane Lewis (North Mecklenburg)

2018-19: Wendell Moore (Cox Mill); Joe Badgett (Carmel Christian)

2017-18: Wendell Moore (Cox Mill); Preston Davis (Independence)

2016-17: Jairus Hamilton (Cannon); Jody Barbee (Cox Mill)

2015-16: Grant Williams (Providence Day); Brian Field (Providence Day), Mike King (Charlotte Catholic)

2014-15: Steven Santa Ana (Ardrey Kell), Grant Williams (Providence Day); Mike Craft (Ardrey Kell)

2013-14: Gabe DeVoe (Shelby); Byron Dinkins (Northside Christian)

2012-13: Kennedy Meeks (West Charlotte); Ty Baumgardner (Olympic)

2011-12: Braxton Ogbueze (United Faith); Baronton Terry (West Charlotte)

2010-11: Terry Whisnant (Cherryville); Ron Bray (Hunter Huss)

2009-10: Ian Miller (United Faith); Johnny Sowell (Monroe)

2008-09: Ian Miller (United Faith); Aubrey Hollifield (Shelby)

2007-08: Malik Stith (East Meck); Jason Grube (East Meck)

2006-07: Dee Bost (Concord); Andy Poplin (Concord)

2005-06: Jeremy Goode (Providence Day); Duane Lewis (North Meck)

2004-05: Jamie Skeen (North Meck); Gosnell White (W. Charlotte)

2003-04: Anthony Morrow (Char. Latin); John Smith (Great Falls, S.C.)

2002-03: Anthony Morrow (Char. Latin); Kurt Wessler (Vance)

2001-02: Donte Minter (W. Rowan); Mike Gurley (W. Rowan)

2000-01: Curtis Withers (W. Charlotte); Larry Dixon (Garinger)

1999-00: Scooter Sherrill (W. Rowan); Scott Brewer (Central Cabarrus)

1998-99: Jason Parker (W. Charlotte); Gosnell White (W. Charlotte)

1997-98: Jason Parker (W. Charlotte); Terry Rogers (Freedom)