Primary election causes shakeup on Canyon County commission. Here’s who won and lost

·1 min read
Katherine Jones/Idaho Statesman

Canyon County voters wanted a change in their county commission. They replaced two incumbent commissioners in Tuesday’s primary election, backing a pair of challengers.

The primary was a de facto general election in Canyon County because no Democrats are running in the fall.

Results came in after midnight showing District 2 Commissioner Keri Smith and District 3 Commissioner Pam White being unseated. The incumbent county clerk and coroner retained their seats.

In District 2, Smith’s fundraising outpaced the other two candidates running. In a previous interview with the Idaho Statesman, Smith said “it takes money to win.” But she lost soundly, with Greenleaf Mayor Brad Holton getting 13,336 votes to Smiths’ 7,676. Connie Constantine got 2,614.

In District 3, Zach Brooks got 3,314 more votes than White, 11,510 to 8,196, to oust the incumbent. Victor Holliday had 3,565 votes in the three-way race.

Clerk Chris Yamamoto handily beat his challenger, Sandra Bowden, by 4,708 votes. Yamamoto had 14,579 votes to Bowden’s 9,871.

Coroner Jennifer Crawford, seeking a second term, also won easily, beating challenger Mike Pullin by almost 6,000 votes.

Canyon County’s District 2 includes most of Caldwell and south Nampa, and also Greenleaf, Notus and Parma.

District 3 includes most of Nampa.

The new District 3 commissioner, Brooks, will serve a two-year term, while the other winners will serve four-year terms.

Incumbent Treasurer Tracie Lloyd and Assessor Brian Stender did not face challengers.

Idaho Gov. Brad Little wins Republican nomination against Janice McGeachin

All Democratic candidates for Idaho governor have been registered Republicans

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting