NC State AD to serve as new chair of College Football Playoff selection committee

·1 min read
Ethan Hyman/

N.C. State athletic director Boo Corrigan will be the new chair of the College Football Playoff selection committee, replacing Gary Barta, who served as the chair for two seasons.

The College Football Playoff committee made the announcement on Tuesday.

The 2021 season was Corrigan’s first on the committee, which determines the four teams in the CFP.

“I thoroughly enjoyed my first year on the committee,” Corrigan said in a statement. “It was a privilege to serve alongside the other members. I’m honored to be asked to serve as committee chair and look forward to working with an outstanding group of individuals who are deeply committed to college football.”

Corrigan has served as N.C. State’s AD since 2019. Before coming to Raleigh he served as the AD at Army and was the associate AD at Duke, Notre Dame and Navy.

In his new role as the chair, Corrigan will be the face of the CFP committee when the rankings are revealed in the final six weeks of the regular season.

Executive director Bill Hancock also announced four new members of the 13-person panel.

Former Wake Forest coach Jim Grobe, Navy AD Chet Gladchuk, Michigan AD Warde Manuel and former USA Today sport writer Kelly Whiteside will join the committee.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting