The new mayor of Aventura is elected unopposed. Two others get commission seats

Howard Weinberg was automatically elected the new mayor of Aventura on Friday, having run unopposed after a rival dropped out of the race last year.

Friday afternoon was the qualifying deadline for the city’s municipal elections. Weinberg ran unopposed after Commissioner Robert Shelley withdrew from the race in November.

Weinberg was previously elected to the Aventura commission in 2010 and his second term ended in 2018. He is also the corporate counsel and senior vice president of business development for Hotwire Communications.

“I’m thrilled and humbled to have the opportunity to continue my service in The City of Excellence,” Weinberg said in a statement. “Aventura has a rich history of good governance which I know our new commission will uphold.”

Two candidates for city commission, also unopposed, won their seats Friday afternoon. Michael Stern was elected to commission seat 2, and Paul Kruss won the commission 4 seat. Stern previously served two terms on the Aventura commission starting in 2005. Kruss is co-owner of Mo’s Bagels and Deli.

“Michael Stern’s return and Paul Kruss’ election will make our city stronger,” Weinberg said. “I can’t wait to get to work with the entire commission. I know that together, we will continue to make Aventura the beacon of local governance and accomplishment in South Florida.”

The three officials will assume office after the November general election.

Two candidates, Amit Bloom and Alberto Zaltzberg, qualified for the commission 6 seat. That election takes place in November.