Miami coach Mark Richt somehow didn’t get ejected late in the second quarter of the Orange Bowl after touching an official.
Richt, apparently upset about a non-call for holding on a Wisconsin third-down conversion, was penalized for the infraction but not ejected as per the NCAA rulebook.
Richt’s penalty helped lead to a Wisconsin touchdown right before halftime and a 24-14 Badgers lead.
Per the NCAA rulebook “Persons subject to the rules (Rule 1-1-6) shall not intentionally contact a game official forcibly during the game.” The penalty for violating the rule is as follows: “Unsportsmanlike conduct. Administer as a dead-ball foul. 15 yards from the succeeding spot and automatic disqualification. Automatic first down for fouls by Team B if not in conflict with other rules.”
Why Richt didn’t get ejected for his unsportsmanlike conduct penalty is a mystery. Especially when contrasted with what Kentucky RB Benny Snell did to get ejected in Friday’s Music City Bowl.
Snell might have noticed the double standard too.
— MrSnell Ya Later (@benny_snell) December 31, 2017
When asked at halftime by ESPN about his anger, Richt said to watch the tape. We did watch the tape, and we think the holding on the right side of the screen that wasn’t called is the subject of his ire.
Miami jumped out to a 14-3 lead early in the first half but let the Badgers score three-straight touchdowns for a halftime lead.
– – – – – – –