Which lockdown tier am I in? How to check Covid alert level in your area OLD

Sarah Young and Sophie Gallagher
·2 min read
 (Getty Images)
(Getty Images)

Prime minister Boris Johnson introduced a new three-tier system of local lockdown measures for England to help control the spread of coronavirus.

Different parts of the country are split into “medium” (tier 1), “high” (tier 2), or “very high” (tier 3), local coronavirus alert areas, with respective sets of rules depending on the category.

The measures come after the number of coronavirus cases in England began to rise: the number of people hospitalised with Covid-19 is now higher than when the UK went into lockdown in March.

On 12 October, Professor Stephen Powis, national medical director for England, said hospitals in north-east and north-west England had seen a seven-fold increase in Covid patients in their intensive care units.

He also confirmed that three temporary Nightingale hospitals in the north of England could be brought back into use to deal with the spike in coronavirus cases.

So how do you know which tier your area comes under?

Press Association Images
Press Association Images

How will a three-tier lockdown work?

England is now divided into different tiers based on local infection rates, which will dictate the severity of each local lockdown.

The three alert levels will span from the minimum level of restrictions applicable to all of England, including the rule of six and 10pm hospitality curfews, to the most strict measures reserved for the highest level.

Medium Tier – People are expected to follow basic restrictions that are in place across the country, such as the rule of six, 10pm hospitality curfew and social distancing.

High Tier – All of the rules for medium tier, plus households are banned from mixing in homes and gardens. But can still mix outside as long as there are six people or fewer.

Very High Tier – People must not have any social contact with anyone outside their household (unless you are a support bubble). Pubs and bars will be closed unless they can operate as a restaurant.

How will I know what tier my local area falls under?

If you are confused about what tier you local area falls under there are a number of ways you can check.

There is a postcode search available on the government website, while the NHS Covid 19 app will show which local alert level applies in which area.

The government updated is also providing additional guidance those who are for clinically, extremely vulnerable.

Read More

Winter is coming: Is coronavirus going to get worse?