How to watch the 2020 Golden Globes

Scarlett Johansson, Eddie Murphy and Joaquin Phoenix are among the actors nominated for Golden Globes in 2020. (Photo: Getty Images)

Grab the popcorn, because the 2020 Golden Globe Awards are here ... or they will be before you know it.

The 77th edition of the ceremony honoring the best in both TV and movies airs live from the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif., on Sunday, Jan. 5 at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET on NBC. (Official red carpet coverage streams on Facebook two hours before and airs on NBC beginning at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. Pacific. Coverage on E! begins at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT.) The main event will also stream on Hulu LiveSling TV and various other platforms — possibly one that will, someday soon, score more nominations than the traditional networks and studios.

After all, this year Netflix, a company that wouldn’t have been discussed at the show 20 years ago, picked up a whopping 34 nods, just edging out HBO for the most nominations. Some of the company’s potential winners include Scarlett Johansson, of Marriage Story, and Eddie Murphy, the star of Dolemite is My Name.

They’ll compete against A-listers including Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt, Jennifer LopezReese Witherspoon and many, many more. The movies and shows that won the most nominations from the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, the group of international journalists who vote on each category, include Marriage Story, The Irishman, The Crown, Unbelievable and Chernobyl.

Two big stars we know will be going home with an award: Tom Hanks, who’s being honored with the Cecile B. DeMille Award for “outstanding contributions to the world of entertainment,” and Ellen DeGeneres. The talk show host is the second recipient of an award for excellence in television.

Meanwhile, expect host Ricky Gervais — on the mic for the fifth time — to say something controversial, and for at least one of the presenters to mix up someone’s name. Count on seeing Pierce Brosnan’s sons, Dylan and Paris Brosnan, to appear as the night’s Golden Globe Ambassadors.

Before tuning in, be sure to check out our list of predictions for which stars will take home the gold.

Yahoo Entertainment may receive a share from purchases made via links on this page.

Read more from Yahoo Entertainment:

Want daily pop culture news delivered to your inbox? Sign up here for Yahoo Entertainment & Lifestyle’s newsletter.