From field of 14, four finalists chosen for Fayette school board seat

Members of the Fayette County Board of Education on Monday chose four finalists from a field of 14 in the selection process for the District 3 school board vacancy.

They are Danny A. Everett, Jason D. Moore, Amy L. Sohner and Kennedy D. Wells.

District 3 includes the eastern section of Fayette County, including Hamburg, Chilesburg and outbound Richmond Road.

The applicants are seeking the seat vacated by Tom Jones when he resigned Oct. 23.

According to documents the Herald-Leader received under the Kentucky Open Records Act, Everett is an adjunct professor at the Baptist Seminary of Kentucky, Jason Moore works for the Drug Enforcement Administration, and Wells is director of membership of a nonprofit. Amy Sohner told the Herald-Leader she is the director of Bluegrass Greensource, an environmental education non-profit that works with schools.

“We were fortunate to have a slate of highly qualified applicants and were impressed with the qualifications and commitment each individual demonstrated to ensuring a world-class education for each and every student,” said board Chairman Tyler Murphy.

The board met in closed session twice — on Nov. 27 and Dec. 4 — to review each applicant.

“We conducted a thoughtful and thorough review of application materials from all 14 candidates who met the legal qualifications for board service,” Murphy said. “This was not an easy decision nor a decision we took lightly.”

There will be a student-led public forum on Thursday at 5:30 p.m. at the John D. Price Administration Building, Room 150. Students from the Superintendent’s Advisory Council will ask questions of each finalist during this event, which will also be livestreamed on YouTube. The forum is open to the public, and members of the board will be in the audience.

Interviews will be held with with current board members Monday in closed session.

“We will continue to keep the community engaged and informed as this process moves forward and invite members of the public to attend or tune in to the forum on Thursday,” Murphy said.

Board members anticipate selecting a finalist prior to the Dec. 14 board action meeting. Under the law, the board has until Dec. 22 to fill the vacancy.

The successful applicant will serve until the next general election on Nov. 5, 2024, and will have the opportunity along with other candidates to run for election to a four-year term. district officials said.