Was there ever any doubt? Miami quarterback Tyler Van Dyke named ACC Rookie of the Year

·2 min read

This one was a no-doubter.

That’s how good University of Miami quarterback Tyler Van Dyke has been.

Van Dyke, a second-year freshman from Glastonbury, Connecticut, was named the Atlantic Coast Conference Rookie of the Year on Wednesday.

He also was named the ACC Offensive Rookie of the Year, becoming the third Hurricane to win both awards in the same season. Running back Duke Johnson did it in 2012 and quarterback Brad Kaaya did it in 2014.

UM freshman safety James Williams finished third in the ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year voting. The voting was done by a select 50-member media panel and the ACC’s 14 head coaches.

Van Dyke played in 10 games, completing 202 of 324 passes (62.3 percent) for 2,931 yards and 25 touchdowns, with only six interceptions.

Van Dyke, 6-4 and 224 pounds, finished the regular season against Duke with his sixth consecutive game in which he passed for more than 300 yards and at least three touchdowns. He took over as starter after veteran star D’Eriq King was unable to play after only three games because of a season-ending shoulder injury.

Next season, Van Dyke will be without UM offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Rhett Lashlee, as Lashlee was named this week the SMU head coach.

“We talked about it,’’ Van Dyke said after the Duke game. “I’d be really happy for Coach Lashlee if he were to take that job. That’d be a good way for him to be a head coach, and he deserves it.’’

With a yet-to-be-determined bowl game this month, Van Dyke is only four touchdown passes away from Miami’s single-season record. Steve Walsh holds that record with 29 touchdown passes in 1988.

The NCAA now allows a one-time transfer rule without a player having to sit out the customary season. But Van Dyke said he “of course” plans to be back with the Hurricanes next year.

The other major ACC football awards:

Player of the Year: quarterback Kenny Pickett of Pittsburgh.

Offensive Player of the Year: Pickett.

Defensive Player of the Year: Jermaine Johnson II, Florida State.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Clemson safety Andrew Mukuba.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting