Texas law requires eligible voters to register 30 days before an election. For the upcoming Nov. 8 midterm elections, the deadline to register in Texas is Oct. 11. If you are unsure of your voter status, check the Texas Secretary of State website.
Also, voter registration in Texas is based in the county in which the voter currently resides. Tarrant County residents can go to the county website to begin registration. Texans who recently changed their name or moved to a different county need to update their voter registration information.
What you need to update your voter registration
A current driver’s license or ID card
Social Security number
Voter Registration Card VUID (Voter Unique Identifier) — this number may be obtained from your County Voter Registrar.
Voter registration applications can also be found at Tarrant County Elections Center, all Tarrant County sub courthouses, U.S. post offices, city halls, libraries and public assistance offices. Mail your application to Voter Registration, Tarrant County Elections, 2700 Premier St., Fort Worth, TX 76111-3011, 30 days before an election. For the Nov. 8 vote, applications are due by Oct. 11.
What to know before registering to vote in Texas
Register to vote in the county of residence.
You must be a U.S. citizen to vote.
Voters must be at least 17 years and 10 months old to register, and be 18 on election day.
You must not be convicted of a felony. If you are a felon, you must have completed all your punishment, including any term of incarceration, parole, supervision, period of probation, or you must have received a pardon.
You must not have been determined by a final judgment of a probate court to be totally mentally incapacitated or partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote.
All Texas voters must provide a Texas driver’s license number or personal ID number issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety. Without a state-issued number, the last four digits of your Social Security number will work. You do need to inform the county registrar if you do not have a social security number.
Your registration is effective 30 days after it is received or on your 18th birthday, whichever is later. Registration must be effective before you can vote.
Moving to another county requires re-registration in the county of your new residence.