14 tourist hotspots opening up for travellers in the next eight weeks

·5 min read
A person in a mask and gloves at Stansted Airport, Essex, as new quarantine rules for travellers arriving in the UK are to be set out by Home Secretary Priti Patel. The plans, due to come into force on June 8, will see people arriving in the UK told to isolate for 14 days to prevent coronavirus cases being introduced from overseas. (Photo by Nick Ansell/PA Images via Getty Images)
Which countries are opening their borders to international tourists? (PA via Getty Images)

As countries across the world, including Europe, start to reopen their borders as they emerge from the coronavirus pandemic, many people have started asking when they can start to travel again.

With economies stagnating and lockdown restrictions easing in many countries, airlines and tourist bodies are keen for people to start planning holidays again.

The UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) is currently advising against all but essential travel abroad and the government has announced that two-week quarantines will be imposed on new arrivals to the UK from 8 June, with a fine for anyone who breaches the rules.

But some countries have announced that they will welcome UK tourists – albeit with certain conditions or restrictions still in place.

This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.

Armand Arton, CEO of The Passport Index, which is tracking which countries are opening their doors to tourists, said: “People worldwide have developed an insatiable appetite for global mobility and the freedom to travel, relax and work in a large number of different countries with very few hindrances.

“Since we started the Passport Index in 2015, we’ve seen a consistent year-on-year increase in global mobility and we are confident that COVID-19 will be no more than a temporary anomaly to an ever-increasing trend.

“Temporary suspensions to visa-free entry arrangements for some countries are just that – temporary. We are confident that the world will reopen quickly and safely.”

Here are some of the countries who are reopening their borders to international tourists over the next eight weeks:-

QINGDAO, CHINA - JUNE 3, 2020 - Tourists play between the sea and the beach. Qingdao, Shandong Province, China, June 3, 2020.- PHOTOGRAPH BY Costfoto / Barcroft Studios / Future Publishing (Photo credit should read Costfoto/Barcroft Media via Getty Images)
Countries have set different dates to reopen their borders to tourists and international travellers. (Costfoto/Barcroft Media via Getty Images)



Italy reopened its borders on 3 June to visitors from Europe, including the UK, unwinding one of the world's longest and most rigid lockdowns. Travel to and from non-European destinations will remain prohibited until at least June 15.


People arriving in Portugal from all other European countries, except Spain and Italy, can enter freely and there are no quarantine requirements.


Croatia has opened its borders to citizens of Germany and nine other mostly east European EU states. Other EU nationals need a reason to enter, such as a tourist booking confirmation.


Most European travellers can enter Bulgaria, but people from eight countries heavily affected by the pandemic, including the UK, Spain and Italy, must spend 14 days in quarantine.

VIENNA, AUSTRIA - MARCH 15: Schoenbrunn Palace without tourists, with warning signs and information about the COVID-19 measures as Coronavirus affects everyday life in Austria at Schloss Schoenbrunn on March 15, 2020 in Vienna, Austria. (Photo by Johann Schwarz/SEPA.Media /Getty Images)
Austria will lift all coronavirus-related border restrictions including quarantines from Thursday. (SEPA.Media/Getty Images)


Austria will lift all coronavirus-related border restrictions including quarantines from Thursday for new arrivals from all neighbouring countries except Italy.


Visitors from the UK and Russia are still barred, but Cyprus will allow visitors from Germany, Greece and a number of other countries from 9 June, provided they have a test up to three days before arrival showing they do not have COVID-19. The test requirement will be dropped from June 20.


France said it wants the EU's internal borders reopened from 15 June and has passed a law allowing it to impose quarantine on visitors from specific nations it deems necessary, with reciprocity a key factor.


International flights to Athens and Thessaloniki airports are expected to resume on 15 June. People arriving from locations deemed high-risk — including the UK — will be tested for coronavirus and those testing positive will be quarantined for 14 days. Those testing negative will have to self-isolate for a week.

Silhouette of Boeing B737 specifically 737-400 Cargo freight aircraft as seen against the sun during final approach for landing at Thessaloniki SKG LGTS Macedonia International airport in Greece on 1st June 2020. Airports in Greece show reduced commercial passenger air traffic due to the Coronavirus Covid-19 pandemic lockdown of the country but raised cargo traffic with cargo freighter airplanes.  (Photo by Nicolas Economou/NurPhoto via Getty Images)
International flights to Athens and Thessaloniki airports are expected to resume on 15 June. (NurPhoto via Getty Images)


Germany will lift a travel ban for EU member states, the UK, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein from 15 June.


EU citizens and people from the UK, Norway and Switzerland can visit but borders remain closed to non-European travellers until 15 June.

Czech Republic

The Czech Republic is allowing unrestricted entry for citizens of around 20 European countries from June 15. Visitors from about a dozen other countries including the UK, France, Italy, Spain and the Netherlands will require a test or quarantine.


At the moment only foreign travellers from neighbouring countries are allowed into Hungary and some face a two-week quarantine. The country is expected to lift a state of emergency around 20 June.

According to The Passport Index, other countries expected to reopen in June include: Bahrain, Qatar, Azerbaijan, Switzerland, Japan, Romania, Serbia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, South Korea, Ireland, Latvia and Norway.



Spain will reopen to international tourism from 1 July. Authorities hope to allow holidaymakers from some low-risk countries to visit before that date, after a national state of emergency ends on 21 June.

According to The Passport Index, countries due to open in July include: Belgium, Sweden, Canada, Taiwan, Ukraine, Indonesia, India, Pakistan, Morocco, South Africa, Israel, Russia and Jordan.


The following countries are expected to reopen their borders on August 1: Brazil, Armenia, France, Iraq, Iran, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, The Passport Index added.


The US will reopen its borders to international travellers from September, the website added.

Coronavirus: what happened today

Click here to sign up to the latest news, advice and information with our daily Catch-up newsletter

Read more about COVID-19

How to get a coronavirus test if you have symptoms
How easing of lockdown rules affects you
In pictures: How UK school classrooms could look in new normal
How public transport could look after lockdown
How our public spaces will change in the future

Help and advice

Read the full list of official FAQs here
10 tips from the NHS to help deal with anxiety
What to do if you think you have symptoms
How to get help if you've been furloughed

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting