Coronavirus: The countries that have travel bans in place

Andy Wells
Freelance Writer
Donald Trump speaks in an address to the nation from the Oval Office at the White House about the coronavirus on Wednesday. (AP)


With coronavirus being declared a pandemic by the World Health Organization (WHO), Donald Trump ramped up measures to tackle the illness.

The president said on Wednesday night he was suspending all travel between the US and Schengen area free movement zones of Europe – which excludes the UK and Ireland – for 30 days starting on Friday as he seeks to combat Covid-19.

Trump made the announcement in an Oval Office address to the nation, blaming the EU for not acting quickly enough to address the outbreak of the virus and saying US clusters were "seeded" by European travellers.

A man wearing a mask walk past a departures monitor at the Rome's Leonardo da Vinci international airport. (AP)

He said "we are marshalling the full power" of the government and private sector to protect the American people.

The EU condemned the travel ban, hitting out at the "unilateral" decision taken "without consultation”.

However, the US is not the only country in the world to implement travel restrictions since the coronavirus crisis started.

Latest coronavirus news, updates and advice

Live: Follow all the latest updates from the UK and around the world

Fact-checker: The number of Covid-19 cases in your local area

Explained: Symptoms, latest advice and how it compares to the flu


The country where coronavirus originated has partial bans in place. All international travellers arriving in capital Beijing will be forced into a 14-day quarantine, while international business travellers will be placed in designated hotels around the city for testing.

They will only be allowed to leave if they test negative for coronavirus. Passengers arriving in China from Iran, Italy, Japan or South Korea and travelling to major cities will also be placed into mandatory quarantine.


With sweeping restrictions placed on the entire country, Italian authorities have also ordered that anyone entering the country via airports in areas including Parma, Lombardy and Vercelli will be refused entry.

A woman crosses the empty Duomo Square in downtown Milan, Italy, as sweeping restrictions are enforced. (AP)

Czech Republic

A 30-day state of emergency was announced by the Czech Republic on Thursday. All entry to non-residents from countries hit by coronavirus, including the UK, will be prohibited from Saturday, according to state broadcaster Radio Prague.


Anyone who has visited China in the last 14 days, excluding airline crew or Australian nationals and their immediate family, will not be allowed entry into Australia. Visitors to Iran, South Korea or Italy this month are also banned from entering Australia for 14 days from the time they left those countries.


A 14-day quarantine on all travellers who have arrived from China, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, South Korea and Spain has been implemented in India. The country has also suspended all tourist visas.

Hong Kong

Mandatory quarantine has been implemented for passengers who have visited countries including France, Iran and regions in northern Italy. Anyone who has visited China’s Hubei Province or South Korea in the last 14 days will be refused entry completely.

Coronavirus cases across Europe. (PA)

South Korea

Visitors and passport holders from China’s Hubei Province in the past 14 days will be refused entry in South Korea.


All passengers who have visited coronavirus-affected regions of China, Italy and South Korea within the last 14 days will be refused entry to Japan. Exemptions will be made to Japanese nationals and their immediate family.

Watch the latest videos from Yahoo UK