Copywriting 101: Get to grips with the basics

·3 min read
<span>Photograph: Oleksiy Rezin/Alamy</span>
Photograph: Oleksiy Rezin/Alamy

Take a walk and look around. Unless you live in the middle of nowhere, you’ll see that copywriting permeates every aspect of our lives. From billboards and buses, to adverts on a board in the local shop - people and brands are everywhere – which is why it can be difficult to get your voice heard.

In this action-focused masterclass with Sally Ormond, founder of Briar Copywriting, you’ll receive expert insights into the fundamentals of copywriting and the skills you’ll need if you want to create content that gets noticed.

Over three focused hours, you’ll learn how to personify your business or brand through your writing and understand how to communicate in a way that feels more natural and appealing to your audience. You’ll also be invited to take part in a short writing exercise, with the opportunity for feedback, putting your new skills into practice.

This is an unmissable workshop for anyone looking to sharpen their copywriting skills and who wants to communicate well.

Course content

  • What is copywriting?

  • Why is it necessary?

  • Where is it found?

  • The elements of great copywriting

  • Grammar versus natural speech

  • Copywriting in action: good versus bad

  • Writing exercise: sell to Sally

  • Q&A

This course is for …

  • Beginners in copywriting or those considering entering the profession

  • Professionals who want to learn how to write in a way that reflects the values of their business or brand

  • Freelancers who want to understand how to write strong and compelling copy

Tutor profile

After a career in the banking industry and charity world, Sally Ormond began her copywriting business, Briar Copywriting, in 2007. Initially working as a sole trader, she incorporated in December 2011. She works with companies of all sizes (from start-ups to blue chips) to help them communicate more effectively with their customers. Her global clients include BT, Deloitte, Cisco, Thomson Reuters, Mambu, Goldman Sachs, Willis Towers Watson, Stage Technologies and many others. She writes everything from website copy to brochures, newsletters to reports, straplines to slogans and everything else in between. Her skills include a deep understanding of SEO, matching the tone of voice to the brand, creating dynamic content, refreshing and enhancing existing copy, editing, proofreading and interviewing. Sally has also written a children’s book, Tilly the Tractor and Freddie the Fire Engine, and a novel called Mackerel Skies.

Details

Date: Thursday 7 April 2022
Times:
2pm-5pm (BST)
Price: £129 (plus £6.08 booking fee)

This masterclass is available globally. If you are joining us from outside the United Kingdom, please use this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

2pm BST | 3pm CEST | 6am PDT | 9am EDT

You will be sent a link to the webinar 2hrs before the start time of 2pm (GMT).

Sign up to our newsletter and you’ll be among the first to find out about our latest courses and special offers. You can also follow us on Twitter, and read our latest articles and interviews on our blog.

Information on Guardian Masterclasses

To contact us, click here. Terms and conditions can be found here.

By enrolling on this masterclass, you’re helping to support the Guardian, and this allows us to keep our quality reporting open to all.

All Guardian Masterclasses are fully accessible - but please contact us if you have any queries or concerns.

Returns policy
Once a purchase is complete we will not be able to refund you where you do not attend or if you cancel your event booking. Please see our terms and conditions for more information on our refund policy.


Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting