Committee of 101 unveils annual NFL award recipients... and there aren’t any KC Chiefs

·2 min read
Don Wright/AP

The Committee of 101 on Tuesday announced its annual list of NFL award winners. No Chiefs made the cut.

According to a news release, the league recipients, as voted on by 101 members of the national media, selected the following:

  • AFC Coach of the Year: Mike Vrabel, Tennessee Titans

  • NFC Coach of the Year: Matt LaFleur, Green Bay Packers

  • AFC Offensive Player of the Year: Indianapolis Colts running back Jonathan Taylor

  • AFC Defensive Player of the Year: Pittsburgh Steelers outside linebacker T.J. Watt

  • NFC Offensive Player of the Year: L.A. Rams wide receiver Cooper Kupp

  • NFC Defensive Player of the Year: Dallas Cowboys linebacker Micah Parson

Watt, whose 22.5 sacks in 2021 tied an NFL record for most in a single season, also earned a third straight first-team All-Pro selection this year. It’s the second straight year that Watt has been recognized by the voting committee. The others are receiving their first award.

Taylor recorded 2,171 yards from scrimmage (1,811 rushing) and 20 touchdowns, including a league-high 18 rushing TDs. He was a unanimous first-team All-Pro selection.

Kupp led the league in receptions (145), receiving yards (1,947) and receiving touchdowns (16). He is the fourth player since the AFL-NFL merger to win the receiving triple crown in those statistical categories. The Rams receiver was a unanimous first-team All-Pro selection.

Parson, a rookie, recorded 13 sacks, 84 combined tackles and three forced fumbles en route to a first-team All-Pro selection.

LaFleur guided the Packers to a 13-4 record, while Vrable led the Titans to a 12-5 mark.

The recipients are scheduled to receive their awards at the 52nd Annual 101 Awards Gala on March 10 in in Kansas City.

The 101 Awards event will conclude with the presentation of the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football, which was created in 2008 to honor the life and legacy of the Chiefs’ founder. The recipient of the Lamar Hunt Award will be announced at a later date. It “recognizes an individual or group that has made significant contributions to the NFL and its status as the preeminent pro sports league in America,” according to a news release.

The Committee of 101 recognized Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes as the AFC Offensive Player of the Year in 2018. Coach Andy Reid was the AFC Coach of the Year in 2013 and 2015.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting