Chiefs’ Patrick Mahomes earns NFL MVP award... from Pro Football Writers of America

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes has earned one group’s Most Valuable Player award, as he was announced as league MVP by the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) on Wednesday.

The accolade is given based on a vote of PFWA members.

This is Mahomes’ second MVP honor from the PFWA after also winning it in 2018. He is the eighth NFL player to earn the honor twice.

Mahomes, who led the Chiefs to a 14-3 record and the AFC’s No. 1 seed, threw for a league-leading 5,250 yards in the regular season with 41 touchdown passes and 12 interceptions.

San Francisco 49ers defensive end Joey Bosa was named PFWA’s Defensive Player of the Year, while Minnesota Vikings receiver Justin Jefferson was Offensive Player of the Year.

Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers won PFWA’s previous two MVP awards following the 2020 and 2021 seasons.

*Receptions only include passes thrown by Patrick Mahomes. Graphic by Neil Nakahodo, David Newcomb, Gabby McCall and Sohail Al-Jamea.