Cadieux to challenge Cuthbertson

·3 min read

THUNDER BAY, ONT. — Jill Cadieux had a whirlwind week to put in her municipal election nomination papers in the Municipality of Neebing.

Taking possession of a new house on Neebing’s Boundry Road on Tuesday, Cadieux had to scramble on Wednesday to submit her bid for the at-large councillor seat where she will be facing off against incumbent Gordon Cuthbertson.

Cadieux, who has been a Neebing resident for 10 years, said the main part of her platform will focus on the enforcement of rules and bylaws.

“I’m big on this enforcement issue,” said Cadieux, who owns The Esthetics and Laser Clinic in Thunder Bay with a satellite laser clinic in Red Lake. “I lived at West Oliver Lake for 10 years and we had major issues down there. Nobody could explain to us who was to enforce it.

“The (Ontario Provincial Police) said it wasn’t their enforcement, the municipality said it was the OPP, so that’s my big thing. I want to figure that out because there’s lots of little parks and beaches and walking trails all around Neebing. It’s the enforcement. . . . There needs to be accountability. I want us all to see a safe Neebing.”

Cadieux and her husband Kevin were a major force in getting the dog leash bylaw approved over a four-year period and are no strangers to filing deputations in front of Neebing’s council.

While she’ll also campaign on having better care for the vast road system in Neebing, Cadieux is intrigued by the medical clinic idea floated by Neebing mayoral candidate Mark Thibert.

“I’m all for (a medical clinic),” Cadieux said.

In Neebing’s mayoral race, Thibert, the current Blake Township councillor, is being challenged by former mayor Ziggy Polkowski to replace the outgoing Erwin Butikofer.

Obie Egbuchulam is up against incumbent Brian Wright for the Crooks job, while Ron Woit, Gary Shchepanik and Katherine Hill, who filed on Wednesday, are campaigning for the Blake Township council seat vacated by Thibert.

Curtis Coulson (Pardee), Gary Gardner (Pearson) and Brian Kurikka (Scoble) are currently running unopposed.


On Wednesday, Chris Kresack filed his nomination papers for councillor in Conmee Township, bringing the total number of candidates for councillor positions to six.

Also running for Conmee seats are David Maxwell, Gayle Manns, David Halversen, Ellen Davis and incumbent Grant Arnold for the four councillor positions.

Conmee Coun. Leslie Kovisto is leaning towards not returning for another term.

In the mayoral race, Suzanne Huot is up against current mayor Sheila Maxwell, who took over from longtime mayor Kevin Holland when he won the Thunder Bay-Atikokan riding in June’s provincial election for the ruling Conservative party.


Also on Wednesday, Donna Peacock filed her nomination papers to run for councillor against six other competitors.

Veteran incumbents Bernie Kamphof and Alan Vis are joined by Rick Baraniuk, Dan Calvert, James Cassan, Sabrina Ree and Peacock in running for the four councillor spots.

Current councillors Rick Potter and Brandon Postuma are vying for the mayor’s post against current Oliver Paipoonge Mayor Lucy Kloosterhuis.

The deadline for filing nomination papers for the municipal elections is today at 2 p.m.

John Nagy, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Chronicle-Journal