CA Johnson standout named Richland County Football Player of the Year

C.A. Johnson’s Caleb Pearson was named the Richland County High School Football Player of the Year on Wednesday night.

Pearson is the first CAJ player to win the seventh annual award which was handed out at a ceremony at Seawell’s. The senior was unable to attend the awards ceremony since he is playing in an all-star game this week.

Pearson was a two-way standout for the Green Hornets this season. He played quarterback and running back on offense and had 2,382 total yards and 28 touchdowns. On defense, he had 50 tackles and two interceptions.

Pearson was one of five finalists for the award. The others were Cardinal Newman’s Cortez Lane, Hammond’s Will McQueen, Richland Northeast’s Myles Pratt and Ridge View’s Myles Brown.

In all 17 players were nominated for the award, given out by the Richland County Recreation Commission to a senior recognized for on and off the field achievements. The winner also received $2,000 in addition to the trophy.

Other nominees were AC Flora’s Albert Perkins, Ben Lippen’s Taevian Copney, Blythewood’s Drayden Young, Columbia’s Jamel McDaniel, Dreher’s Charles Jeffcoat, Dutch Fork’s Terrance Wells, Eau Claire’s Lamar Eddy, Heathwood Hall’s Cooper Horton, Lower Richland’s Marcus Smith, Spring Valley’s Devan Crumpton, Westwood’s Christian Rhoden and WJ Keenan’s Evan Artemus.

Richland County Football Player of Year winners

2023 — Caleb Pearson, CA Johnson

2022 — Markel Townsend, AC Flora

2021 — Antonio Williams, Dutch Fork

2020 — Ronnie Porter, Heathwood Hall

2019 — Alex Huntley, Hammond

2018 — Anthony Wilson, Spring Valley

2017 — Channing Tindall, Spring Valley