B.C. Premier David Eby calls two byelections for June 24

·1 min read

VICTORIA — British Columbia Premier David Eby has called byelections for two ridings left vacant after the resignations of the previous New Democrat premier and a former cabinet minister.

Voters in the Greater Victoria riding of Langford-Juan de Fuca and in Vancouver-Mount Pleasant will cast their ballots on June 24.

The Langford riding had been held by former premier John Horgan from 2005 until he retired from politics earlier this year.

Melanie Mark, a former advanced education and tourism minister and the first First Nations woman elected to the B.C. legislature had represented Vancouver-Mount Pleasant since 2016, before she also left office earlier this year.

The NDP, BC United and Greens have nominated candidates to run in each riding.

Advance voting is set to run from June 16 to 21, with June 24 as the final day voters may cast their ballots.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published May 27, 2023.

The Canadian Press