Movie Talk

‘Fruitvale’ and ‘Blood Brother’ take home both Grand Jury and Audience Awards at Sundance Film Festival

FruitvaleSundance Grand Jury and Audience Award winner 'Fruitvale' (Photo:Rachel Morrison)

The 2013 Sundance Film Festival came to an official close with its awards ceremony held tonight at the Basin Recreation Fieldhouse just north of Park City, which for the past ten days has been under siege by Hollywood executives, distributors, celebrities, journalists and movie-goers looking to catch this year's program of independent films.

"Fruitvale" emerged as this year's big winner as it won both the U.S. Grand Jury Prize for Drama and the Audience Award for U.S. Drama. The film, which has been referred to as "the next 'Beasts of the Southern Wild,'" tells the true story of Oscar, a 22-year-old Bay Area resident who crosses paths with friends, enemies, family and strangers on the last day of 2008.

"This will not be the last time you guys walk to a podium,” said former Fox studio executive Tom Rothman as he gave out the Grand Jury award to the "Fruitvale" team, including a very emotional Ryan Coogler, the film's director.

"Blood Brother" followed suit by scoring both the Grand Jury Prize and Audience Award for Documentary. Director Steve Hoover's film follows Rocky, a man who travelled to India as a disillusioned tourist but ended up staying after he met a group of children with HIV.

Other notable winners include Shailene Woodley and Miles Teller, who took home the U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Acting for their work in the high school drama, "The Spectacular Now"; Bradford Young, who won the U.S. Dramatic Cinematography Award for "Ain't Them Bodies Saints"; and Shane Carruth and Johnny Marshall, who won the U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Sound Design for "Upstream Color."

Sundance has more awards than Park City has annual inches of snow, but host Joseph Gordon-Levitt, who premiered his writing and directing debut "Don Jon's Addiction" at this year's fest, had it all wrapped up in 90 minutes. The entire list of winners can be found below.

Short Film Special Jury Award:
"Until the Quiet Comes," directed by Kahlil Joseph

Short Film Special Jury Award for Acting:
Joel Nagle, "Palimpsest"

Short Film Jury Award, Animation:
"Irish Folk Furniture," directed by Tony Donoghue

Short Film Jury Award, Non-Fiction:
"Skinningrove," directed by Michael Almereyda

Short Film Jury Award, International Fiction:
"The Date," directed by Jenni Toiyoniemi

Short Film Jury Award, US Fiction:
"Whiplash," directed by Damien Chazelle

Short Film Grand Jury Prize:
"The Whistle," directed by Grzegorz Zariczny

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film:
"Computer Chess," directed by Andrew Bujalski

Cinematography Award, World Cinema Documentary:
"Who Is Dayani Cristal?," cinematography by Marc Silver and Pau Esteve Birba

Editing Award, World Cinema Documentary:
"The Summit," edited by Ben Stark

Directing Award, World Cinema Documentary:
"The Machine Which Makes Everything Disappear," directed by Tinatin Gurchiani

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:
"A River Changes Course," directed by Kalyanee Mam

World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award:
"Pussy Riot – A Punk Prayer," directed by Mike Lerner and Maxim Pozdorovkin

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic:
"Jisuel," directed by Muel O (South Korea)

Directing Award, World Cinema Dramatic:
"Crystal Fairy," directed by Sebastian Silva

Screenwriting Award, World Cinema Dramatic:
"Wajma (An Afghan Love Story)," written by Barmak Akram

Cinematography Award, World Cinema Dramatic:
"Lasting," cinematography by Michal Englert

World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award:
"Circles," directed by Srdan Golubovic

Audience Award, World Cinema Dramatic:
"Metro Manila," directed by Sean Ellis

World Cinema Documentary:
"The Square," directed by Jehane Noujaim

Audience Award, Best of NEXT:
"This is Martin Bonner," directed by Chad Hartigan (U.S.)

Editing Award, U.S. Documentary:
"Gideon’s Army," edited by Matthew Hamachek

Cinematography Award, U.S. Dramatic:
"Ain't Them Bodies Saints," cinematography by Bradford Young

Cinemaography Award, U.S. Documentary:
"Dirty Wars," cinematography by Richard Rowley

The U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Sound Design:
"Upstream Color," Shane Carruth and Johnny Marshall

The U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Acting:
Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley, "The Spectacular Now"

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award:
"American Promise," directed by Joe Brewster and Michèle Stephenson

Lake BellWaldo Salt Screenwriting Award winner Lake Bell (Photo: Michael Loccisano/Getty Images)Audience Award, U.S. Documentary:
"Blood Brother," directed by Steve Hoover

Audience Award, U.S. Drama:
"Fruitvale," directed by Ryan Coogler

Directing Award, U.S. Drama:
"Afternoon Delight," directed by Jill Soloway

Directing Award, U.S. Documentary:
"Cutie and the Boxer," directed by Zachary Heinzerling

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award, U.S. Dramatic:
"In A World ...," written by Lake Bell

U.S. Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:
"Blood Brother," directed by Steve Hoover

U.S. Grand Jury Prize, Drama:
"Fruitvale," directed by Ryan Coogler