ASC Awards: Don Burgess, Steven Fierberg and Amy Vincent To Be Honored At 38th Annual Gala

The American Society of Cinematographers has announced the honorees for its 38th Annual Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography Gala on March 3, 2024. They are: Don Burgess, ASC; Steven Fierberg, ASC and Amy Vincent, ASC.

Burgess, Robert Zemeckis’ longtime collaborator, will be recognized with the 2024 Lifetime Achievement Award. While his latest work is Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom, directed by James Wan, Burgess is best known for shooting Zemeckis’ Oscar-winning Forrest Gump, for which he earned ASC Award and Oscar nominations. The duo have also collaborated on such films as last year’s live-action Pinocchio, Flight, Contact, Cast Away, What Lies Beneath, The Polar Express and the upcoming Here.

More from Deadline

Burgess’ other credits include Sam Raimi’s Spider-Man, the first Aquaman, Brian Helgeland’s 42, Allen and Albert Hughes’ The Book of Eli, Gary Winick’s 13 Going on 30, Jonathan Mostow’s Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines and Billy Crystal’s Forget Paris. Burgess earned his first ASC nomination for the Emmy-nominated television movie The Court-Martial of Jackie Robinson.

“Over the past 40 years, Don Burgess has been steadily inspiring us with his contribution to many of cinema’s most memorable films,” said ASC President Shelly Johnson. “Don is an amazingly talented artist whose body of work speaks powerfully to the strength of visual storytelling. He brings his vision and skill along with a deep commitment to collaboration, which is a guiding principle of our art form. Many of his films are woven into our cultural fabric – you remember where you saw his work and who you were with. It is a sincere pleasure for the ASC to recognize Don’s significant contributions to cinematography.”

Fierberg will be presented with the ASC Career Achievement in Television Award. His credits include all five seasons of The Affair, three seasons of Emily in Paris and multiple seasons of HBO’s Entourage. Fierberg shot the pilot for ABC’s Once Upon a Time and in established the look for NBC’s Kingpin. He previously won an ASC Award for the miniseries Attila in 2002. In addition to his television work, Fierberg has shot a wide range of feature films including Steven Shainberg’s Secretary, Doug Ellin’s Entourage movie” and Ed Zwick’s Love and Other Drugs. Fierberg has crafted the look of many music videos for artists including Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Easy E, David Lee Roth and Tim McGraw. He earned a Latin Grammy for best video of the year for Draco Rosa’s “Mas Y Mas.”

Vincent will be honored with the Presidents Award for her dedicated service to the ASC. She is an active member of the ASC Board of Governors and a founding member of the Society’s Vision Committee, fostering diversity and inclusion. Vincent’s contributions to the ASC underscore her role as a champion for women in the film industry. She actively participates in mentorship programs, while also teaching cinematography at universities, including the American Film Institute, Florida State University, and Loyola Marymount University where she is currently the Distinguished Artist in Residence. Vincent is a recipient of a Women in Film Kodak Vision Award for Outstanding Achievements in Cinematography. She earned the Excellence in Cinematography Award at Sundance for her work on Craig Brewer’s Hustle and Flow. Her feature credits also include Brewer’s Black Snake Moan and remake of Footloose and Kasi Lemmons’ Eve’s Bayou. Vincent’s work can next be seen in the 2024 feature film A Nice Indian Boy directed by Roshan Sethi.

“We are looking forward to celebrating these exceptional individuals at our Gala,” said ASC Awards Committee Chairman Chuck Minsky. “They are all outstanding artists that have had an impact on our craft both on set and off.”

The ceremony will be held at The Beverly Hilton and live streamed.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.