AC Flora running back wins 2022 Mr. Richland County Football Player of Year

Markel Townsend capped off his big senior season with one of the top honors in the area.

The AC Flora senior running back was named Mr. Richland Country Football Player of the Year on Thursday. Townsend is the first AC Flora player to win the award.

Other past winners include Spring Valley’s Channing Tindall and Anthony Wilson, Hammond’s Alex Huntley, Heathwood Halll’s Ronnie Porter and Dutch Fork’s Antonio Williams.

Townsend had a record senior season in helping AC Flora to an undefeated regular season and a trip to the Class 4A Lower State championship. He finished the year with 2,660 yards rushing and 43 touchdowns.

Townsend was one of 17 nominees for the award, given to a senior and recognizes on and off the field achievements. In addition to the trophy, he also will receive a $2,000 scholarship from the Richland County Recreation Commission.

Townsend isn’t committed to a college yet but will be taking an official visit to Lehigh next week. He also has interest from Penn Dartmouth, Wofford and Western Carolina.

Other nominees include Ben Lippen’s Nathanael Cole, Blythewood’s Livingston Weisinger, CA Johnson’s Nigel Leake, Cardinal Newman’s AJ Reyes, Columbia’s DreVon Leonard, Dreher’s Makhi Simonson, Dutch Fork’s Jarvis Green, Eau Claire’s Rickie Murray, Hammond’s Rucker Brannon, Heathwood Hall’s John Nagy, Keenan’s Hernandez O’Neal, Lower Richland’s Mekhi Campfield, Richland Northeast’s Avonte Grant, Ridge View’s Shamarr McQueen, Evan Javis and Westwood’s Noah Jennings.