24 drivers eligible for 2021 Clash on Daytona road course

·1 min read

It didn’t take much for a driver to be eligible for the 2021 Busch Clash.

Twenty four of the 32 drivers who attempted to run a full schedule in the Cup Series in 2020 are eligible for the annual season-opening exhibition event. The race, which was a demolition derby on the Daytona oval last year, will be run for the first time on the Daytona road course in 2021.

Drivers who won a pole in 2020, previously won a Busch Clash, previously won a Daytona 500, previously won a Daytona 500 pole, made the playoffs in 2020, won a race in 2020 or simply won a stage in 2020 are eligible for the race.

That criteria includes both Clint Bowyer and Jimmie Johnson, two drivers who aren’t racing in NASCAR in 2021. It also includes Ty Dillon and Matt Kenseth. Neither of those two drivers currently have a ride in 2021. So the field will likely be around 20 drivers in February.

Here are the 22 drivers who will be eligible for the race that will be competing in 2021. The race will be held on Tuesday, Feb. 9 ahead of the Daytona 500 on Sunday, Feb. 14.

  • Aric Almirola

  • Ryan Blaney

  • Alex Bowman

  • Chris Buescher

  • Kurt Busch

  • Kyle Busch

  • William Byron

  • Cole Custer

  • Matt DiBenedetto

  • Austin Dillon

  • Chase Elliott

  • Denny Hamlin

  • Kevin Harvick

  • Erik Jones

  • Brad Keselowski

  • Joey Logano

  • Ryan Newman

  • Tyler Reddick

  • Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

  • Martin Truex Jr.

Erik Jones (20) celebrates after winning the NASCAR Daytona Clash auto race at Daytona International Speedway Sunday, Feb. 9, 2020 in Daytona Beach, Fla. (AP Photo/Phelan M. Ebenhack)
Erik Jones won the Clash in 2019. (AP Photo/Phelan M. Ebenhack)

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is a writer for Yahoo Sports.

More from Yahoo Sports:

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting