What is today’s World Cup schedule? Groups, matches, results, fixture start times

The 2022 FIFA World Cup — the 22nd edition of the international soccer tournament — will be held in Qatar. This is the first time that the World Cup will be held in the Middle East.

The group stage kicks off on Sunday, Nov. 20 and will run through Friday, Dec. 2. The Round of 16 will be held Dec. 3-6, quarterfinals on Dec. 9-10, semifinals on Dec. 13-14, third-place game on Dec. 17 and the final on Dec. 18.

France are the defending World Cup champions.

MEET THE USMNT: See the 26 U.S. players going to the 2022 World Cup

WORLD CUP QUIZ: Test your knowledge of soccer's biggest event

EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW: Stay up to date with our sports newsletter

How many teams are in World Cup 2022?

A total of 32 teams will compete in the 2022 World Cup. The 1998 World Cup in France was the first to feature 32 teams. The number of teams to qualify will increase to 48 for the 2026 World Cup that will be hosted jointly by Canada, Mexico and the United States.

What are the FIFA World Cup 2022 groups?

Group A





Group B



United States


Group C


Saudi Arabia



Group D





Group E


Costa Rica



Group F





Group G





Group H




South Korea

What is the FIFA World Cup 2022 schedule?


Sunday, Nov. 20

Group A: Ecuador 2, Qatar 0

Monday, Nov. 21

Group B: England 6, Iran 2

Group A: Netherlands 2, Senegal 0

Group B: United States 1, Wales 1

Tuesday, Nov. 22

Group C: Saudi Arabia 2, Argentina 1

Group D: Denmark 0, Tunisia 0

Group C: Mexico 0, Poland 0

Group D: France 4, Australia 1

Wednesday, Nov. 23

Group F: Morocco 0, Croatia 0

Group E: Japan 2, Germany 1

Group E: Spain 7, Costa Rica 0

Group F: Belgium 1, Canada 0

Thursday, Nov. 24

Group G: Switzerland 1, Cameroon 0

Group H: Uruguay 0, South Korea 0

Group H: Portugal 3, Ghana 2

Group G: Brazil 2, Serbia 0

Friday, Nov. 25

Group B: Iran 2, Wales 0

Group A: Senegal 3, Qatar 1

Group A: Netherlands 1, Ecuador 1

Group B: England 0, United States 0

Saturday, Nov. 26

Group D: Australia 1, Tunisia 0

Group C: Poland 2, Saudi Arabia 0

Group D: France 2, Denmark 1

Group C: Argentina 2, Mexico 0

Sunday, Nov. 27

Group E: Costa Rica 1, Japan 0

Group F: Morocco 2, Belgium 0

Group F: Croatia 4, Canada 1

Group E: Spain 1, Germany 1

Monday, Nov. 28

Group G: Cameroon 3, Serbia 3

Group H: Ghana 3, South Korea 2

Group G: Brazil 1, Switzerland 0

Group H: Portugal 2, Uruguay 0

Tuesday, Nov. 29

Group A: Netherlands 2, Qatar 0

Group A: Senegal 2, Ecuador 1

Group B: England 3, Wales 0

Group B: United States 1, Iran 0

Wednesday, Nov. 30

Group D: Tunisia 1, France 0

Group D: Australia 1, Denmark 0

Group C: Argentina 2, Poland 0

Group C: Mexico 2, Saudi Arabia 1

Thursday, Dec. 1

Group F: Croatia 0, Belgium 0

Group F: Morocco 2, Canada 1

Group E: Japan 2, Spain 1

Group E: Germany 4, Costa Rica 2

Friday, Dec. 2

Group H: South Korea vs. Portugal (Education City Stadium), 10 a.m. ET (FOX)

Group H: Ghana vs. Uruguay (Al Janoub Stadium), 10 a.m. ET (FS1)

Group G: Cameroon vs. Brazil (Lusail Stadium), 2 p.m. ET (FOX)

Group G: Serbia vs. Switzerland (Stadium 974), 2 p.m. ET (FS1)


Saturday, Dec. 3

Match 49: Netherlands vs. United States (Khalifa International Stadium), 10 a.m. ET (FOX)

Match 50: Argentina vs. Australia (Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium), 2 p.m. ET (FOX)

Sunday, Dec. 4

Match 51: France vs. Poland (Al Thumama Stadium), 10 a.m. ET (FS1)

Match 52: England vs. Senegal (Al Bayt Stadium), 2 p.m. ET (FS1)

Monday, Dec. 5

Match 53: Japan vs. Croatia (Al Janoub Stadium), 10 a.m. ET (FOX)

Match 54: Winners of Group G vs. Runners-up of Group H (Stadium 974), 2 p.m. ET (FOX)

Tuesday, Dec. 6

Match 55: Morocco vs. Spain (Education City Stadium), 10 a.m. ET (FOX)

Match 56: Winners of Group H vs. Runners-up of Group G (Lusail Stadium), 2 p.m. ET (FOX)


Friday, Dec. 9

Match 58: Japan/Croatia winner vs. Winners of Match 54 (Education City Stadium), 10 a.m. ET (FOX)

Match 57: Netherlands/United States winner vs. Argentina/Australia winner (Lusail Stadium), 2 p.m. ET (FOX)

Saturday, Dec. 10

Match 60: Morocco/Spain winner vs. Winners of Match 56 (Al Thumama Stadium), 10 a.m. ET (FOX)

Match 59: France/Poland winner vs. England/Senegal winner (Al Bayt Stadium), 2 p.m. ET (FOX)


Tuesday, Dec. 13

Match 61: Winners of Match 57 vs. Winners of Match 58 (Lusail Stadium), 2 p.m. ET (FOX)

Wednesday, Dec. 14

Match 62: Winners of Match 59 vs. Winners of Match 60 (Al Bayt Stadium), 2 p.m. ET (FOX)


Saturday, Dec. 17

Semifinal losers (Khalifa International Stadium), 10 a.m. ET (FOX)


Sunday, Dec. 18

Semifinal winners (Lusail Stadium), 10 a.m. ET (FOX)

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: World Cup schedule: Groups, times, results for Qatar 2022 tournament